Why I’m Glad I Bought a New Calculator


A good conversation starter to talk to that kappa who sits in the front row in macro class

Just got a new calculator.  Its the TI-30x IIS.  I used to have a TI-29 IS, which was alright, but I could tell that I needed an upgrade.  It cost $35, worth it to make sure I’m on my top game for my macro test next week.  Its a good calculator in part because its versatile; you can use it for all kinds of things like statistics and trigonometry.  I have to admit that I was a little worried about the fact that its the #1 calculator teachers recommend most often (says so on the packaging), because I don’t want people to think I’m just buying it because Prof. Milton said at the end of class last week that it was the calculator he used, and that he would recommend it to anyone in the market for a new calculator (in macro we talk a lot about markets).

Thus far I’m pretty happy with it, but I’ve only used it for a couple homework problems and the tic tac toe program during calc.  It has a solar panel, so it’s a green device.  I know in the scheme of things it probably doesn’t make that much of a difference to the environment that my calculator is partially solar powered, but I want to know that I’m doing my part to stop global warming.   Also, Prof. Milton didn’t mention that it had a solar panel, and that’s one of the main reasons I got it, so it really was my choice to buy it—I can’t emphasize that enough.

Having a good calculator is kind of like having a cool car (think: my retro Thunderbird).  It is something that gives me confidence.  Or as we would say in macro, with my new calculator I have a high demand of confidence.

~ by killerbuffalo on October 20, 2010.

One Response to “Why I’m Glad I Bought a New Calculator”

  1. meh

    lazy post

Leave a Reply

 
