Apology to My Readers (Part II)


I've been disappointed with Obama's first term in office, but I know that he won't let this happen

It’s no secret that people are talking about me.  I know that a lot of you are wondering why I haven’t posted in so long.  I never wanted it to come to this, but I can’t stay quiet any longer.  Yes, it’s true, I was accused of libel, and Wash U administrators are considering shutting down my blog.  Apparently, some of the things that I quoted Student Life as having written (in my article about the mugging in front of Wheeler), Student Life didn’t actually write, which apparently counts as libel under 1st Amendment.  You may not believe me, but I truly didn’t intentionally misquote Student Life.  I don’t know how it happened—probably a hacker got into my blog or someone gave me a fake issue of the newspaper.  What I can tell you, however, is that I will get to the bottom of this.  I will find out who did this, and I will publish their name on my blog for the world to see.

Before you side with Student Life and the university administration, I want you to hear what I have to say.  Apart from freedom of speech concerns, the issue comes down to this: some people are happy to just go through their lives not taking risks, and as a result, getting nowhere.  That’s not me.  Obviously I did not intend to misquote Student Life—after all, if I ran them out of business where would I go for CS40 election coverage?  But if Student Life was misquoted in my article, which apparently it may have been, it’s only because I want to report the news without any “spin” or “political agenda.”  I wanted to tell it like it is to my readers, report the news straight.

Lately, I’ve been getting disappointed with politics as usual in Washington, and I’m deeply sorry that school politics is now starting to determine our way of life and tell us how we are supposed to function in this existential world.  In this economy, it’s shocking that the university is chastising its students for thinking outside of the box and aiming to reach new heights in the sphere of new journalism.

In high school I had to read every word of the Constitution and I don’t remember it saying anything about misquoting a newspaper, even though I’m not convinced I did that, and if I did, I certainly didn’t do it intentionally.  I know for a fact that when Benjamin Franklin and Samuel Adams wrote the Constitution they intended for it to protect the rights of those who were trying to make a difference in this shallow and superficial society, those who were fighting against the established machine.  By writing that “the meek shall inherit the earth,”  they were trying to make the point that it doesn’t matter whose side you were on in the Revolutionary war or who your parents were: what was important was that you had a big heart and had something to contribute to society.

After two trying semesters at Wash U, I have found my calling.  You’re reading it.  I don’t care whose side your on in this continuing debate, but you should support me in my continued battle against the status quo.  I will not let you down, and I’m sorry that Student Life doesn’t understand that.

~ by killerbuffalo on November 6, 2010.

3 Responses to “Apology to My Readers (Part II)”

  1. You should have incorporated to provide some legal buffer between your business and your personal life.

  2. Remember when you people wrote stuff? Feels like that was back in the First Age…

  3. Купил ламинированные двери и запартачил при установке. Продам в пол цены. Отпишитесь кому надо.

Leave a Reply

 
